Welcome to Dansk udgave!Dansk udgave

In November 2017 we went to Malta together with three friends.

The Maltese islands are located between Sicily and North Africa, about 300 km east of Tunesia.
The total area constitutes 316 sqm, somewhat lesser than the Isle of Wight. The isles consist of
five islands of which only three are inhabited. We lived on the main island, Malta, in the town Qawra.

Malta is a former British Crown Colony but became 1964 an independant
constitunional monarchy with Queen Elizabeth II as Head of the State.
Malta became a republic 1974 and in 2004 Malta became member of the
European Union. In 2008 the Euro was introduced as the official currency.

The population of Malta constitutes around 416.000.

Click on the pictures for seeing them in full size.


Houses of Parliament in Valetta Saint John's Co-Cathedral
Saint John's Co-Cathedral,
Saint John's Co-Cathedral,
a crusader's tomb
Street view from Valetta The Grand Master's Palace,
today the presidential palace
outside the presidential palace
Auberge de Castille,
today the prime ministery
View from the bastion
towards Cospicua and Vittoriosa
Cospicua Street view from Vittoriosa View from Vittoriosa
Hagar Qim Marsaxlokk
Hagar Qim temple, 3600 - 3200 B. C. The Fishing Village Marsaxlokk Tourists in Marsaxlokk
Mosta Wied iz-Zurrieq
The Dome Church
(Church of Miracle)
The Dome Church, interior The Dome Church, interior Blue Grotto
City gate of Mdina Street view, Mdina Citta Vecchia, Mdina Horse cab
Rabat Qawra
Saint Pauls's Grotto, Rabat Street view, Rabat Church of St. Francis of Assisi
St. George's Basilica, Victoria St. George and the Dragon,
Street view, Victoria View of Gozo
Citadel, Victoria Citadel, Victoria View from Xlendi Church of Our Lady of Lourdes,
St. Pauls' Church Mansion in Safi Medieval wind mill Karen preparing cheese


Click here to go back to the Høxbroe's Home Page

Last updated 26. November 2017
Photos: © Leif Høxbroe 2017